The Shrinkage Problem

Img_20111104_152504

Canvas.  It kinda sucks.

First of all, it is a poor medium for laser cutting.  The edges fray
after the cut, definitely not something I want happening to a product
with my name on it.

Furthermore, before I cut it, I wanted it to be as flat as possible,
so of course I ironed it.  Later, I used the cut canvas as a measuring
template for cutting some pieces of leather.  I was pretty surprised
when said leather wasn’t big enough for the design.

It turns out that I didn’t account for how ironing made the canvas
expand.  After it dried for a while, it lost a couple centimeters. You
can see in the photo its size versus a correctly cut piece of leather.
So I had been rough-cutting the leather guided by a mis-sized piece
of canvas.  Urgh!

But these obstacles shall be quickly overcome, and the data and
knowledge from occasional stumbles is invaluable.

This entry was posted in boardgame engineering. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

