The Color Poplar

Img_20111101_113140

I just received my shipment of "fancy" wood from Memphis Hardwood. It looks pretty.

I got a sample pack of Walnut, Maple, Curly Maple, Yellowheart, Alder, Cherry, Poplar, Paduak, and Butternut.

I'm thinking Paduak for Brick, Yellowheart for Wheat, Curly Maple for Sheep, and I haven't decided on the rest.  Walnut would be a good candidate for Stone, but the thickness was not very consistent, ranging from 3.5 to 3.8mm, where ideally I want 3.0mm.

Next steps: sand, paper, test cut, test etch, test varnish.

This entry was posted in design. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

