Manifesto

Hexsprout

How obscene is it that we hide our games behind closet doors while televisions are now being hung on the wall like Picassos?

Our games are totems of community, interaction, sharing, friendship and familial ties.  The notion that games should be kept in some dusty closet is a remnant of our industrial-revolution culture, of plastic replacing wood, of mass-marketing, of design that focuses on shipping costs rather than personal enjoyment, and of not taking the time to enjoy life.

What I’m trying to do is create board games that never go back into a box.

As a first step towards that goal, I’ve created a Settlers of Catan board that is also (IMHO) art.  It should live on your coffee table, or hung on a wall, not stashed on a dark shelf.

I’m seeing that there is a demand out there. There are people who want their time to be infused with beauty.

These people give me hope. You give me hope.

You legitimize my aspiration to make beautiful accessories to togetherness. It starts with Catan, but next on my list, I’ve got Dominion, Carcassonne, Agricola, and also some general-purpose accessories.

I am not alone.

Browsing around the various board game forums will unearth dozens, perhaps hundreds of crafters, makers, artists and builders making these objects of beauty. I think that the forces of community will eventually bring us together to share and support each other. I intend to do what I can.

Thank you for your help and support.

This entry was posted in thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Manifesto

  1. This is truly incredible. I hope that you’re able to bring this level of detail to other beloved board games as well, as well as inspire other craftspersons to do the same. Keep up the amazing work.

    Like

  2. Julian Tysoe says:

    Hi Shandy,

    I’ve been following your project on Kickstarter from the beginning. I have the red box of Settlers, but as my sons are both under 3 years old, I have had very little time to play it. I love what you’ve done with the Settler’s frame and tiles, it really does turn the game into a piece of art, and it’s great to see that there has been such enthusiasm and backing for your project.

    Julian

    Like

Leave a Reply

