Immortal Technique

Img_20110717_172706-1

At TechShop, laser cutter time is limited to two hours.  I try to not be a jerk and have my area vacated before that deadline.  But this is a big job.

I figured out a technique to estimate the time it takes to etch the board today.  Basically, I let the etch run for a little while, and measure the time taken. The time taken is roughly determined by the area covered.  So, chop the whole image into a few rectangles, find the ratio of the area of those rectangles to the first rectangle, and multiply by that first measured time.

Today's etch pushed me 5 minutes into overtime, but luckily nobody showed up after me, so I didn't have to beg forgiveness.

This entry was posted in boardgame engineering. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

