Only that which is measured improves

If I’m going to create something to keep all the Catan pieces in place, I’ll need to know exactly how big all the pieces are. I traced them out and grabbed my tape measure. I used millimeters, of course – it is a German game after all.

This is the stage where I get really paranoid. Every step between here and the end product could introduce error, and I won’t know whether it works or not until I test it, and I can’t test it before it’s finished. I also have to trust greatly in the manufacturing of the Mayfair Games retail version.  What if the roads and cities that came in my box are 1mm different than someone else’s? What if Mayfair uses different manufacturers for different geographical markets?

This entry was posted in boardgame engineering, design. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

